NEW: Bird Strike Canada Seminar Series 2021

Conference style talks delivered to you

Because of the Covid pandemic the 2020 Bird Strike Canada Conference had to be cancelled. It is uncertain whether we can hold a conference in 2021. Therefore, we thought we would try to bring the conference to you through a series of 1-hr seminars on key topics of interest.

These seminars will also be of interest to those of you who are unable to attend conferences even without the pandemic and will allow us to engage speakers who would not travel to a conference because their main interest may not be airport wildlife management. Nevertheless their expertise is of great interest and value to those of us engaged in the field of aircraft-wildlife hazard mitigation.

A small fee is charged for these sessions primarily to cover the cost of hosting them and making them available. The cost is a fraction of what it would cost to attend a conference with these talks as part of the program.


Browse all seminars

Seminar 1: Effects of COVID-19 on Airport Wildlife

Session A: Dr. Michael Schrimpf

Session A — Reduced human mobility during COVID-19 alters avian land use across North America

Date: Thursday, 28 January 2021
Time: 12:00 PST, 13:00 MST, 14:00 CST, 15:00 EST 16:00 AST, 16:30 NST

Session BBird strikes during Covid: An Airline Safety Manager`s perspective

Date: Thursday, 28 January 2021
Time: 12:30 PST, 13:30 MST, 14:30 CST, 15:30 EST 16:30 AST, 17:00 NST
Read more Register Now
lee-wardingley-img
Session B: Lee Wardingley


Seminar 2: Winter Raptors

Session A: Jeff Kidd

Session ARough-legged Hawk Migration and Movements

Date: Thursday 25 February 2021
Time: 12:00 PST, 13:00 MST, 14:00 CST, 15:00 EST 16:00 AST, 16:30 NST

Session BMitigating Snowy Owl Aircraft Collisions by Relocations

Date: Thursday, 25 February 2021
Time: 12:30 PST, 13:30 MST, 14:30 CST, 15:30 EST 16:30 AST, 17:00 NST
Read more Register Now
rebecca-mcabe-owl-img
Session B: Rebecca McCabe


Seminar 3: Wingtips at our Fingertips: Understanding the Complex Lives of Migratory Animals

Sessions A & B: Stuart Mackenzie

Combined Sessions A&B

Canadian Migration Monitoring Network &
Motus Wildlife Tracking System

Date: Thursday 25 March 2021
Time: 12:00 PST, 13:00 MST, 14:00 CST, 15:00 EST 16:00 AST, 16:30 NST

Read more Register Now